Councilman Joel Burns on Ellen

Just have to share this little update on Fort Worth city councilman Joel Burns.  He is the young Texas politician who on October 12th used his council meeting speaking time to reach out to gay youth with a personal reflection on his painful adolescence.  That speech was so amazing and has been seen by close to 2,000,000 people on the internet.  In it Burns gave out both the Trevor project phone number (1-866-4 U TREVOR) and his office phone number in the hopes of helping gay youth in crisis.

According to this new interview and to other reports I have read since October 12th many people have contacted Mr. Burns to tell him how much his words meant to them.  It is pretty safe to assume some lives have been saved by his courageous speech.  Today he reflected about this turn of events with Ellen.

When people act with such honesty and compassion I am filled with hope and reminded of the song
We Are Each Other’s Angels
Joel is certainly an unassuming angel.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Councilman Joel Burns on Ellen

  1. Lisa

    Thank you for posting this. I stumbled onto your blog because of your freshly pressed post (congratulations) and I just wanted to thank you for this site. I’ve been really thinking lately about what I can do to deal with some of the inequities, particularly bullying, that exist in schools. I find your words inspirational. Thank you.

    • Julia

      How about that guy, first he made me cry during that city meeting. Now his mom is making me cry all over again. Thanks for the comment.

  2. The number of suicides due to bullying makes me sick.

  3. I’m so glad to have found this blog, too! Everything you express in here seems to be in line with my own personal opinions.
    I will be applying for a Master’s of Education in “Society, Culture and Literacies”, and will hopefully focus my research on Character and/or Citizenship Education. I am really passionate teaching our kids to become citizens of the world, and with this comes true acceptance.