I Love My Hair!

On my drive to work yesterday I heard an interview with Sesame Street writer Joey Mazzarino about a cute little song he wrote that has spread far across the internet in the last few days.

Joey is the father of a beautiful African American daughter who not long ago explained to him that she was beginning to hate her hair and wish for long blond straight princess hair.  Well he took to the puppets to write her an anthem about her wonderful and perfect nappy black hair.  So I’m going to give the Disney princess part of the interview pass here and simply celebrate the skit he created for his daughter, I Love My Hair.

In an ABC report on the public response to this song and little girls worries about their nappy hair; “Comedian Chris Rock said he was prompted to make his documentary about the $9 billion black hair business “Good Hair” when his five-year-old daughter asked him, “‘Daddy, how come I don’t have good hair?”
Good Hair is an ironic, witty and informative answer to that question.

121 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

121 responses to “I Love My Hair!

  1. everythingneat

    Congratulations on being featured on Freshly Pressed!
    Loved this post as it really makes us think about self-acceptance. Thanks for sharing.

    • shuntheepic

      Making up for centuries of oppressive Americanized beauty standards is a tall order for 2 minutes of a singing puppet – but better late than never.

      • A better way to put it would be “Europeanized” – after all, America is defined not just by white but by black culture as well (among others). Aside from just population stats, think pop culture (which has become the U.S.’s face around the world) – so much of it has its roots in the African-American experience. (Not trying to be pushy here, just trying to think outside of the box in terms of definitions.)

  2. It’s wonderful! Thanks so much for posting. We all get to love ourselves first, before we can love others.

  3. Interesting! Thanks for sharing.

  4. I’m all natural and I love my hair! My 13 year old niece has natural hair and is struggling with whether or not she wants to get a relaxer so she can “fit in.” She can’t decide because both her mom and I have locs and they’re beautiful, but she’s turned off by the beginning stages of growing locs! You gotta start somewhere right? Anyways, hopefully our young African American princesses can look to mature African American queens to encourage them that their natural hair IS beautiful!

  5. I like this article and I like the song.

  6. congrats on being freshly pressed. as a natural young woman, my friends and I have been circulating this video to each other and loving it. I’m so glad little girls have this video–I can remember feeling the same way his daughter felt, and I can remember the discouragement I still get from my family on the subject of my natural hair. But I will tell you, I have never felt so beautiful as I have since cutting out the relaxer and experiencing my own hair, customized especially to me =)

  7. Pingback: About ‘I Love My Hair!’ (via Schooling Inequality) « A Bad, Bad Webbis

  8. AWESOME! I love thins. Thanks for sharing.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  9. Nor

    There is a sensitivity in your posts that touch me quite deeply and resonate with some of my own desires around blogging–thanks.

    http://bit.ly/b5dU8k

  10. I love women who keep their hair all natural. “Good hair” was a great documentary to.

    http://wordpress.com/

  11. I just posted about the same thing on my wordpress blog. This video is so fab!

  12. I’ve been considering going natural – as it is definately healthier! I haven’t watched your video yet b/c I’m at work, but I definately will check it out when I get home!

    Thanks for posting!
    *Oh, and I loved ‘Good Hair.’ Great movie 🙂

  13. Awww this is so cute! Although if anyone wants to straighten their hair, I’m hoping their doing it because that’s what they feel like doing. I’m white with hair that has the potential for afro (yes, people it does happen) but straighten it all the time because otherwise it won’t even stay in a pony-tail. On some women, though, the super curly look is gorgeous and makes them look all the more feminine.

  14. **they’re not **their. Whoops.

  15. Congratulations on being freshly pressed. This was a really good post. A lot of young black girls struggle with their hair at a young age. When I was young I wanted to spritz my hair and have a tall, giant bang too. So, my mom brought me some spritz and we made it happen.
    I wanted to fit in at the time.

    Once I got a little older I realized that everyone has different hair and mine seemed to be working out pretty good.

    Thanks for sharing!

  16. That is one lucky little lady with a great father 🙂
    Funny, when I was really young, I was the opposite… I loved that gorgeous spring-tight afro/halo of curls that African-american women rock. I wanted to have braids, a pretty curly afro, dreads… anything but my plain old brown hair. It curls, but definitely is limp and thin.
    love what’s natural, all you girls 🙂

  17. Kayla LaFleur

    Wow. I literally was thinking about this very issue just this morning because in my art history class we were focusing on the artist Ellen Gallapher a few weeks ago and I was thinking about the statement her works made again–so your post caught my eye! Ellen Callapher borrowed advertisements from 50 year old magazines directed at a black audience to erase their blackness in various ways. For one of her pieces she scanned an ad featuring an African American man holding up a can of hair straightener that is suppose to make him feel “really proud of his hair.” To make her point that his hair is just fine the way it is naturally she affixed mold-made tight coiled curls and various other shapes more natural to an African American’s hair type to the image.

    It’s awesome that Sesame Street is sending out the same message! Feeling confident and good about what nature gave you is the ultimate definition of beauty ❤

  18. Larry

    HA!!! Love this.

  19. Janis

    I have to wonder how many women with natural hair the young, unmarried Chris Rock would have given the time of day to. I’d have more respect for him if he’d address that.

    • We often need to “grow up” a little to do the right thing. I applaud Chris for hearing his daughter and making that change (if in fact he was that way before) Change is good! When we know better…we do better.

  20. I love this video. It’s so cute and appreciated. I’ve been natural for 2 years now. I’m happy that Sesame Street put this out for little kids to love who they are.

    Thanks for sharing.
    🙂

  21. This is great! Not many people realize the issue young African American girls have with their hair. I’m of mixed race but my hair isn’t curly. It’s “nappy” at the roots and straight at the ends, so people don’t consider me to have good “mixed hair”. I’m happy Sesame Street is addressing this.

  22. Pingback: PRCA 3330 Comments « Rantings of a PR Student

  23. When I made the choice to go natural in high school it was a really big deal. The style was loong straight and usually blond. I had dark very curly hair! In fact it was kinky for a white girl. So everyone called me the girl with bushy bon hair. But they loved it, there were even a few who duplicated me!

    Congrats on nteh freshly pressed!

    Sarah
    moonmooring.wordpress.com

  24. i LOVE your post! I remember going through the same phase when i was younger; asking myself, “why don’t I have good hair??” I may even still question it now. But I am proud to say that it has been almost a year since my last perm – and I’ve been growing my hair out ever since. Although I have no clue what exactly to do with it now, I am embracing its naturalness and healthiness anyway.
    Good Hair is a great movie! EVERYONE should see it.

  25. I love my curly frizzy hair too – but can’t help it, I also love my ceramic flat iron 🙂

    Although I guess we’re never really happy with what we have – curly headed folks want straight hair, straight haired folks get perms, almost everyone colors their hair, no one wants to be gray, hair extensions are a booming market – and on it goes – it shouldn’t be anything a child has to ever remotely even think about. Bravo to Sesame Street for continuing to strengthen their reputation for excellent and timely programming in the service of children, and congrats to you on being ‘Freshly Pressed’!
    http://www.thepeoplestuff.com

    • I understand your view but this is addressing something just a tad bit different. As African Americans in this country we’ve been told our entire existence that black isn’t beautiful. If you go up about 6 or 7 comments to Kayla LaFleur’s comment, she gave an example about a 50 year old image in a magazine of a black man holding up a can of hair straightener with a message that reads “be proud of your straight hair”.
      We had products in stores telling us to “Be pretty. Lighten your skin.”
      We have black women bleaching their hair blonde.
      We were told to get relaxers because our hair is “unmanageable”.
      We were told our noses and lips were to large.
      There was a magazine that recently got a little heat when they did a article on what’s not appropriate in the office and one of the things on the list referenced when black women wear their hair natural.
      “Good hair” is when our hair isn’t “nappy”, when it’s straight like our white counterparts – That’s what we’ve been told our entire lives.

      I can go on for days. This is why the daughter of the man who created this feels the way she feels about her hair.

      The difference with the examples that you gave is that some of those changes aren’t attempts to remove someone from their culture or ethnicity. When women get extensions they’re getting extensions of European hair. You don’t see many people getting extensions of “kinky’ or “nappy” hair that represents hair of African descent.

      But you are right that alot of folks are not happy with themselves.

  26. Pingback: The Story Behind: I Love My Hair « Lushcoils

  27. I was so very happy with that new lil muppet. As a lady with Natural hair… even at 29 I need to be able to hum that lil song in my mind for support. 🙂 Congrats on being Freshly pressed. 🙂

  28. This video has gotten a lot of press recently and it’s much deserved. Thanks for giving it more attention.

  29. I see the link to the book “Happy to be Nappy,” which reminded me of the book “Nappy Hair” that came out a few years back. Parents across the country called for the book to be banned, while the new video is gaining wild applause — it appears simply because of the presence/absence of a single word. I wonder if there is any significance to the fact that the book was written by an African-American, while the song was written by a white father? I’m not trying to stir up trouble, I am just curious about why the reaction to these two things is so drastically different.

    As a white girl with thin, wavy-ish hair, I’m sure I don’t understand all the complex relationships people have with the word “nappy,” and I would love to hear your take, or others’, on the different ways the same message was recieved. I think we all wish we had different hair than we do, but the pressure on (and the message to) African-American girls has to be different from the messages I absorbed as a kid.

    • Julia

      We have and love the book Nappy Hair too. I have to admit your post was the first I read about the banning of that one so I did a quick search. The book Banned in the USA gave me a quick feel for what happened in that case and if it is accurate it sounds like it had a lot to do with racial perceptions about the teachers using the book.
      Time prevents me from offer a more thoughtful response to your observation today, but you did get me thinking.

  30. My sister has glorious, long curly hair and from childhood to this very day, continues to want it straight no matter what straightening chemicals, hair dresser expense, et all.

  31. Standing O!!!!! I am the mother of two african american little girls and the moment I saw you posted this I called them over to the computer. They loved it and I was so happy! My oldest is almost seven and she already has many issues about her hair.:( Luv it! Luv it! Luv it! We need to see more of this:)

  32. Definitely going to share this with the little girls in my life! I love that it show the versatility of styles available to us. Thanks for sharing.

  33. Absolutely beautiful thing for Sesame Street to address (no pun intended). It’s so sad when people can only see one type of beauty, or fight against what they have rather than embracing it. They day we all look like clones will be a sad one.

  34. jimmyrae

    I love this post I think that all parents should educate their kids about hair and that there is no such thing as good hair, and that people just group others because thats how most of them were raised. I also like the video because it encourges the little african american girls that their hair is beautiful. I was raise to always get relaxers my mom gave me one at 2 and every since then ive been getting them now im use to havingmy hair strighten but i dont want to raise my girls like that i want them to love their hair no matter how nappy it is.Im so self councious to even go natural but i comend all the girls that have more power to them because i will never be confortable enough to wear my hair like that.

  35. I think most people kinda dislike (or hate) their own hair… curly haired people want straight, straight haired people want curly, wavy … maybe they don’t know what they want lol. I think sometimes it’s style, sometimes it’s just greener grass and other sides of the fence. It’s a shame people can’t just accept and embrace what they have….
    Of course, I think african american women have even more pressure on them…but it’s a culture thing for all girls (and boys)
    http://lostdmw.wordpress.com

  36. That’s such a sweet song! I have straight, blond, princess hair – but I always wanted red hair. I guess the grass is always greener, but I do love my hair!

  37. Super cool… Just watched it with my baby girl… Who by the way rocks a curly fro…. Love it! This is important… More than we will ever know!

  38. Definitely a message that needs to be communicated to young Black girls everywhere. The hair “issue” is one they’ll forever encounter, especially if they opt for chemical free styles. At least by having this pride instilled in them at a young age they can deal with the issue confidently.

  39. LOVE this blog. 🙂 First read the “Happy to be Nappy” last year when I ordered the book for a professor who wanted to use it in her Reading/Language Arts Education college classroom. Fell in love with it. My cousins are biracial and have the most amazing hair I’ve been jealous of my whole life. 🙂 I’ve always wanted to be able to look good in cornrows (without sunburning my scalp!)

  40. love the song!

    love chris rock’s “Good Hair” as well — really great information + added perspective on self-love + acceptance!!!

  41. I love my hair cuz I use the best products and it is healthy…..but it doesn’t come easy….

  42. The video is absolutely cute. However, as a recent (over 1yr) natural hair female, I have found that it can be very challenging to care for our very curly hair. There are days I wish to go back to straightening to get looser curls because it was easier and less fuss and then there are other days I absolutely LOVE my curls and receive compliments as such. For kids, it is important to support their curly identify

  43. TALA

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  44. MY CHILD ASK ME WHY ARE YOU BALD DADDY? I Told her it is because the hair on top went away for ever and i think guys look funny with hair only on the sides of there head. But if i had hair like yours i would be so happy like with all that hair you have,so can i have some of yours?We laughed and she never question about her hair. Now it is just hard keeping her from a mirror shes in love with her bushy afro…………….

  45. Generation 26

    All my life I’ve been trying to get long straight hair, but recently I saw ithe beautiful as it is so next time I do my hair I’m just going to keep it simple and natural. As for the video I love the idea, but I do miss the days of Sesame Street when race was never a color and there were muppets of the rainbow

  46. I love this post. I mean some of the older people can remember the days where a nappy afro was something to be proud of. We should help our kids understand that they are beautiful no matter the hair texture, skin color, or even eye color.

  47. this really cheers me up…I have thick Irish curls and it’s not always fun after all of these years…

    thanks for the reminder that God gives us curls in order to flip them!

  48. Love this! I’m in the process of going natural ( I haven’t done the big chop yet). It’s nice to see a positive message being delivered about self-acceptance.

  49. Sweet!

    My five year old year niece has already had her hair called ugly by a little girl at her day care last year. So, I told her a story about Africa and why nappy hair and her hair is the best and prettiest hair in world.

  50. Great! I am so happy for something that makes people feel better about themselves, that isn’t a little white pill!! It’s true no one is ever happy with what they have, though.

    evelyngarone.com

  51. I liked your post so much that I reblogged it. Hey, I can remember when Roosevelt Franklin was part of the cast at Sesame Street. I was surprised to see him phased out.

  52. sndenton11

    Thanks for posting this! When I first saw the video it made me wish I had seen this when I was into Sesame Street. I remember wishing I had long pretty blond and wavy hair as a kid and it took me a long time to start appreciating the fact that my hair is different and there’s nothing wrong with that.

  53. Reminds me of the new Willow Smith song “whip my hair”

  54. This is amazing – both the love of the father for his daughter, and Sesame Street for addressing it.

    The relationship a lot of black women have with their hair is complex. I actually wrote an essay about my experience in cutting off my relaxed hair in favour of going natural – how I dealt with issues of racism, sexism and even homophobia.

    I wish this video was around when I grew up – or even several years ago when my young cousin, while watching TV with me, told me with teary eyes that she wanted long hair that hung down.

    This video is a small step, but a needed step.

    (And congrats on being Fresh Pressed. Good job!)

  55. dressup24h

    So lovely 😀

  56. Love it! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  57. Pingback: I Love My Hair! (via Schooling Inequality) « In My Flippie Floppies

  58. When I saw this video on Facebook, I immediately had to share it with my friends. It is long overdue. I am glad that people with influence such as Chris Rock and Joey are making positive strides towards helping young girls (and women) feel good about their original design.

  59. UglyDuckling86

    I am white, but I have very frizzy hair that needs relaxing. I had just written a blog about at-home relaxing turned disaster when I was 15. Cute video though.

  60. Pingback: I Love My Hair! (via Schooling Inequality) « slices of ink

  61. charlihunt

    I concur! This is a great piece. Thanks for sharing this.

    PEACE|LOVE|UNITY~Charli

  62. I have very wavy/curly, frizzy hair that my mother use to roll up in curlers when I was young just to “smooth” out. Probably so I could fit in to the all white neighborhood and school where I lived. As a young teenager, I spent many a evenings washing, conditioning, and rolling my hair and then waiting forever for it to dry–sometimes having to sleep in those curlers. Why? Just so my hair would “behave.” Then, when I got into my later years in high school, I grew tired of all the work. I washed my hair one night and didn’t do anything to it. I went to school the next day, after mustering up all the confidence in the world I could, and walked proudly through the halls. The truth is, I loved my hair when it was “au naturale.” I always felt free and wild and the most like my true self. It was long, about down to the middle of my back, and my white friend said it reminded her of Diane Ross. (It wasn’t THAT big.)

    I started wearing it like that more often and I would get compliments. I learned that my own hair was okay the way it came, and I liked it and that is what mattered most–not trying to fit into other people’s molds of what they thought I should look like. I am Mexican, Italian, American Indian, and who knows what else, born and raised in MidWest America.

    My daughter (and my son)is all that with the added mix of their father’s background who is black. I have tried to teach my daughter, whose hair is exactly like mine but with a lot more of a tighter curl, to love her hair the way it is because it’s beautiful. She has gone through the phase of wanting it straight, wanting bangs (oh, NO, that just doesn’t ever work on our type of hair, unless you are willing to work it every day), and having it long and short.

    I never tried to do the things with her hair that my mother did to me and I think she is way more accepting of her hair at an earlier age than I was because of this. When she lets it go natural–which she does quite often–she sees the beauty of it and rocks that hair!

    And, I don’t think it’s the same to say “we all want something different than we have” or “nobody ever likes what they have.” To have “ethnic” hair and to try and make it succumb to what mainstream white America has is a huge deal and something that you simply cannot fully understand unless you’ve lived it. You might can relate–but it’s still different than living it on a day-to-day basis. I feel it belittles and is insensitive to say such things. Better to say, “I feel for you, thanks for opening my eyes to this experience, and your beautiful the way you are” then to try and seem as though you get it when you don’t have that kind of hair.

    Just my opinion from one who has lived it for the last 51 years.

    • Julia

      Thanks and I have to agree on your final point. First, I don’t think we all want something different than we have either. Some of us do and some of us don’t. And those general wishes for something else can be related to all sorts of personal experiences and admirations.

      I think Joey rightly recognized in his beautiful black daughter’s comments about wishing for long blond straight princess hair that she wasn’t getting any natural beauty messages from the images put out there by the media for little children.

      Of course I wish beauty standards weren’t at the basis of any little girls self image no matter their ethnic background. But this lil video is taking on the beauty standards that deny or profess the need to change the natural beauty of diverse ethnic groups. And I say good on Sesame Street!

      All our children are offered way to few celebrations of “ethnic” beauty. I think we could use a lot more muppets and other children’s media like this one, and much of the loving response to this two minute song is evidence of just that.

  63. jeanadero

    Great post!

  64. Fidel

    Interesting article, especially since I found out today that one of the hottest viral songs right now is called, “Whip My Hair” by Will and Jada Smith’s 9-year old daughter. Now what is society telling us when a 9-year old black child makes a song about whipping her creamy crack hair?

  65. everybody will be happy to be what he/she is without being conditioned by mode, but I know it’s difficult. Hope she grew like a wise woman! Greetings from Italy and excuse me for my english!

  66. Generation 26

    I take back what I said. Only reason we associate brown with a race is because of where we are in the times, but innocent children don’t see race. I’m glad this will be added to Sesame Street

  67. I’m so glad to have found this blog!
    It’s amazing how so much translates into what could be perceived as one of the most trivial things in the world: hair.
    I, for one, really like natural hair. I make a conscious effort to say positive things about my students’ hair on a regular basis. At first, they often gave me a look, as if to say “Yeah! Right!”, but that has changed over time. 🙂
    This reminds me of India Arie’s song: “I Am Not My Hair”…

  68. love sesame!!! hahaha

  69. I think this video is a perfect inspiration to young black American girls or Ethnic African girls around the world as their is so much media tribulation today about what is beautiful hair.

    – We never seem to see as many tv commercials or Ads displaying the beauty of ‘nappy’ hair through the media? This is something I’ve always questioned as democracy has been in for quite a while, surely it should come through in every way possible, even if it is just…nappy hair.

  70. Marsha

    Great post and video! I only wish there was this sort of education and affirmation when I was a little girl. It could have saved me all of the hair loathing I felt for so many years. I’ve been natural for over five years now and I’m still learning to embrace and accept my hair for what it is in its natural state.

  71. nearlynormalized

    I had the thick blond beach girl hair when I was young; had to comb it, brush it, and I did not care one bit about hair. I wanted to have very curly hair, wear it short and not have to be concerned about maintaining the “golden locks.” Surfing and skiing were my joys and hair was like fingernails, it just grows.

  72. Great Self-Esteem Video for Little Black Girls. The should know they don’t have to have “straight-blonde-princess” hair to be BEAUTIFUL. Kudos to Sesame Street!

  73. Great post and enjoyable comments! There’s some interesting philosophy comments that cover the theme of ‘acceptance’ on my ‘BeLikeWater’ blog.

    http://belikewatermedia.wordpress.com

    Enjoy your day readers!

  74. YoursTrulyAnnie

    Congrats on being freshly pressed! Great post! I really hope that this video can help teach our young black princesses that their hair, though tough, is beautiful and unique. Knowledge is definitely power and in this case I hope it translates into love and pride.

    Yours Truly,
    Annie

  75. That is a really good song, that was kind of the father to write that for his daughter. Thanks for posting this. It’s something you just don’t think much about if you are white.

  76. Congrats on being freshly pressed! This is a great post, everyone should believe they’re beautiful, their hair, bodies, etc! ❤

  77. I was born with nappy hair. My mother, appalled and desperate to ‘fix’ it, shaved it all off because she was told this would make “good” hair grow in its place. It seems to have worked because I have straight fine hair now.

    I am Hispanic (Spaniard/Cuban/Persian to be exact). I swear we have got to be one of the most racially conscious groups on this planet. I can only assume that’s because we are such a mixed bag of breeds. Hispanics aren’t a race. We can be white, black, Asian, Amerindian, and any combination thereof. There’s a saying in Spanish “Y tu abuela donde esta?” which loosely translates to “and where is your grandmother?” The context of the question, of course, alludes to our mixed heritage. Yet we all desperately cling to our White/Spaniard lineage, as if that somehow makes us better.

    Of my siblings, only my sister was born with green eyes (like my father’s). I remember when my baby brother was born the entire family gathered around his crib taking turns to pry his gummy eyelids open with bated breath hoping his eyes would be the coveted lighter shade. I also remember the sighs of disappointment when they were, indeed, just brown.

    It’s these behaviors (more so than what is vocalized) that shape our concepts of beauty. I bemoaned my brown eyes and olive skin most of my life. I wanted to be peaches and cream like my prettier, whiter, green-eyed sister. My parents called us vanilla and chocolate. By default her fairness made her the prettier one. I was the dark ugly duckling.

    This form of racism is so insidious because it is part of our culture, language, and customs. It’s deeply ingrained at a subconscious level, and that’s how it is passed on to younger generations.

  78. I watched an unrelated program that delat with the cost of caring for “black hair.” The cost of the upkeep is astounding. This woman was willing to give up many things to save money, but no way was she giving up her weekly hair appts. “This is what makes me feel good, because I like the way I look.” Either way, women should love their hair, change it only if you want to and as long as it makes you feel good about yourself. Me, I am happy I still have my hair! 🙂 Nice Post!
    http://cafetodaymyblog.wordpress.com/

  79. Pingback: I Love My Hair! (via Schooling Inequality) « J A Y P E E

  80. Sunflowerdiva

    Great post! Loved the words, loved to video! Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!

  81. Great post, one that touches many of us close to the heart/head. Like so many others, I have always wished for hair that would hold a curl and be lighter in color. Instead, I deal with the lack of curl and hi-light it every few months.

  82. Kudos to Joey Mazzarino and Sesame Street. I’ve been so happy to see this video spread so widely. I can’t wait to have happily nappy daughters to share similar sentiments with them. On another note, I disagree with the Chris Rock “Good Hair” review. I think he actually missed the point, spending no time challenging the concept of “good hair,” and focusing on how black women go to extremes to get that good hair. He would have made me more proud if questioned a lot more about WHY black women go to these extremes and do not embrace their natural hair.

    But anyway, really just wanted to tell you I appreciated the post!

  83. abyssalplains

    Since the age of six I had endured chemicals & heat in an effort to transform my hair into “good hair”.

    A week ago, I decided to go all natural, and all I can say is: I LOVE MY HAIR 🙂

    Thanks for posting!

  84. charlihunt

    As a person with natural hair (been wearing in locs for years now) I appreciate and applaud this post. When I was in grade school, I searched for images that reflected me and my culture, along with other non-Anglo sections of the community.

    It was difficult to see so many instances of subtle and not-so-subtle negative messages about society’s preferred aesthetics. I began to question the reasons for such positive reinforcement in every aspect of our complex world. I often watched other kids gravitate toward blond, blue-eyed, or fair-skinned representations of not only beauty and ‘good’ hair, but also status and privilege — it was a hard pill to swallow.

    In spite of these things, I was taught by my family to remain open to all cultures and embrace diversity. This clip is a testament to this ideal. Bravo.

  85. Congratulations, you’ve been wordpressed today! And what a great timing as I’m having a real bad hair day just then. Enjoyed the post. 🙂

  86. I absolutely love this song! My daughter and I have bumped it often since hearing it for the first time. My daughter and I both wear our hair natural. When she was 2 we moved to a less culturally diverse environment with fewer people who “look like her”. After spending some time there she began saying she wanted “skinny hair”. I immediately understood that she meant straight hair. Since then we have been on a mission of self-love. Everytime we see a picture or video of someone with beautiful natural African hair we gush about how beautiful it is. This video has been a wonderful addition to our mission.
    All the best to you. http://www.BlissBellyKitchen.wordpress.com

  87. Ok. maybe I’m a bit over-emotional today, but that video brought happy tears to my eyes.

  88. Congrats on this. I recently wrote a piece about my own hair and what it means to me. So good to see you talk on this important issue!

  89. LL

    Awesome song. But gotta say I HATE the term African American. It’s just so fucking condescending, and limiting. What do you call a black African? A black German?

  90. He should show his daughter “The Princess and the Frog,” who is the first black Disney princess.

  91. Nice post. Congrats on getting freshly pressed !! It’s so easy to long for things that you don’t have or are not born with; but it takes a lot to accept what you are blessed with and make the best of what you got.

  92. It is easy to accept what you have especially when others accept it too :)….WE gotta love ourselves and people should accept that everyone is made unique and beautiful in their own ways. 🙂 Congratulations on being freshly pressed! I love your post.

  93. Just like Mr. Mazzarino, my daughter would request things of such nature about her hair including making it shiny just like the shampoo commercials. I didn’t know what she meant at first then I finally figured it out.

    I had to explain to her, that her hair was not going to look like that but we could work on getting it straight. Kudos for making his daughter aware of her uniqueness…

  94. Pingback: Of Hair and Acceptance « It's Not Easy Being Green

  95. The mother of one of my students thanked me for complementing her daughter on her hairstyles. It is sad to me that such things can effect self-esteem. Thanks for posting!

  96. Thanks for posting this. I wear my hair natural and I love it. It was a hard choice since most people believe that the coporate worldf will not accept it. But I found that the greatest acceptance is myself.

  97. yes, we all at some time or another feel that the grass is greener on the other side of the proverbial fence. i ended up getting sick of my long blond straight hair and dying it dark (& dreaming of the day it would decide to hold curl). i wish i could Love MY Hair!! (that was cute)

  98. Pingback: Blog Round Up « Reinvented

  99. Cute blog! Loved Sesame Street as a child. This is great because it teaches children to love the skin they are in and that being unique is a wonderful thing. This is such a positive blog and I loved the video. Keep up the great work!

  100. I absolutely love this video. . .I believe that African American girls need all of the ego boosters they can get. So many of them are conditioned to believe that the only way to acquire beautiful hair is by straightening it. . .this video tells them otherwise. I love it, and showed it to my three year old niece she loves it too, she has been singing it ever since. On October 8, I wrote a blog post about this very video. . . Feel free to check it out: http://bit.ly/bznSNd

  101. Pingback: Good Hair – The Critical Edition

  102. some hair straighteners that use chemicals are very harsh to the hair, that is why you should be careful with those “:~

  103. Pingback: Eating Lunch At The U.N. « It Just Dawned On Me

  104. Pingback: Presto… she’s white ! | Schooling Inequality

  105. Julia

    This post disc is no longer active.