New views on an old subject

Just wanted to share two fairly new blogs that are giving a new voice to the lived experiences of LGBTQ / queer kids.

The first is Born This Way which is currently getting a lot of press coverage.  This is a blog where queer folk go back through the childhood photo album and select a photo to post and then tell us a little about that queer little kid they once were.

I think I first heard about this blog from Dan Savage and thought it was interesting reminder that the adults you know in the LGBTQ community were all once children too. 

It also seems like another great outlet for the millions of queer folk looking to give voice to their human existance – – a demographic clearly tapped into by the “It Gets Better” campaign. 

The commentaries attached to people’s childhood photos on the site are wonderful reminders that we – the queer community – do not magically appear in adulthood.  We were all children once too and yep – even then – we were those rare and precious two dollar bills 😉

The second interesting blog I read recently is popping up as an occasional essay series on Queerty.  This blog is called Raising My Rainbow and the tagline for this writing is:

Raising My Rainbow is written by the mother of a slightly effeminate, possibly gay, totally fabulous son. She’s chronicling their journey here.

The first post closes with this set of remarks:

1.) For myself, to get my feelings out, share my journey and scrapbook with words.
2.) For any other person in a situation similar to mine, raising a slightly effeminate, possibly gay child. There have to be more of us out there, right? Right?!
3.) For the gays. I love you like Gaga and need your advice. When I ask a question, answer me, please.

So, I’m giving it year. I hope you’ll do the same.

Not changing him, just loving him…

I think these are interesting projects.  Maybe you will too

Proliferate I say – proliferate!

Comments Off on New views on an old subject

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.