Holy Bullies

Back in the fall the mainstream media jumped on the viral internet story of a little boy who wanted to be Daphne (from ScoobieDoo) for Halloween.

I wrote a little post about it here when CNN psychologist Dr. Gardere suggested that having a gay child was really every parent’s worst nightmare.

Well fast forward a few months and the blogger mom has recently posted an epilogue to her adventures with homophobic grown-ups jumping all over her for failing to shame her son into submission to rigid gender norms.

Her latest post chronicles how her church community headed up by the Pastor has embraced her message of respect for difference and celebration of childhood glee.

According to the holy powers that be, mom is “promoting gayness” and she had better stop – or no more communion with the congregation.

Wow.

Read her post below, and if you belong to a spiritual community consider what they are doing to combat or contribute to this sort of hate and harm to families.

We really must expect more from one another.

Epilogue Let me be very clear, this is not a manifesto against organized religion, church, Christianity, its various denominations, etc. This is about a singular event, the repercussions it has had on me and my family, and the fact that bullying can come from just about anywhere. If you are unfamiliar with this blog or need a refresher, I encourage you to go back and read this post, My Son Is Gay. So here we go. These are the facts that lead up to this ra … Read More

via Nerdy Apple Bottom

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Holy Bullies

  1. *SIGH!* There’s nothing so christian as being a psychological thug in the name of Jesus.

    It is to weep.

  2. Lisa

    I am so tired of hypocrisy in religion, from any faith. Sigh.

  3. Julia

    I have pondered the relative good that comes from religion so often. Sure I have seen the generative social good religion can bring communities first hand. But it seems the more closely I track it, the more I am simply terrified at the psychological and ethical hold it has over someone like this blogger mother. I find myself more concerned and compelled with her struggle than I am with the Pastor, the church ladies or the like.

  4. Lisa

    I agree Julia. I recognize the need for faith and the urge to believe that explains our existence, but so often psychological ramifications and the moral hold religions on people is disturbing. When guilt becomes an overpowering emotion, it can really destroy someone–and many religions use it as a tool for training. Do this, believe this, or you will be working against _____ (fill in the blank). But, nobody is perfect.